top of page
  • Soumyajit Dutta

TATA IPL: RCB holds the Major IPL record without winning the Trophy

Updated: Aug 2, 2022

TATA IPL: RCB holds the Major IPL record without winning the Trophy - Despite never winning the trophy, Royal Challengers Bangalore has broken numerous records. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) has been one of the most popular franchises in the Indian Premier League (IPL) since its inception in 2008 - For more IPL and Best Cricket news follow 99Runs

RCB Records In IPL

263/5 - The Highest team total

In the IPL, RCB holds the record for scoring the highest total of 263/5.

In Bangalore in 2013, they achieved it against the now-defunct Pune Warriors India (PWI) team.

As RCB thrashed PWI by 130 runs, Chris Gayle smashed an unbeaten 175 off just 66 balls.

The Pune team won the toss and elected to bat first on a drizzly afternoon.

Gayle, the Caribbean power-hitter, took all the bowlers to task in one of the most famous and deadly T20 innings ever.

Tilakaratne Dilshan, his opening partner, hit 33 off 36 balls, while AB de Villiers smashed 31 off 8 balls.

RCB holds the Major IPL record without winning the Trophy

175 Runs - The Highest Individual score

Chris Gayle, the Universe Boss and T20 star, carved his name in the history books on April 23, 2013, when he played a breathtaking and sensational inning of 175 off just 66 balls against PWI.

Tossing 13 fours and 17 soaring sixes at a strike rate of 265.17, the Jamaican blew away the PWI bowlers.

On that occasion, the West Indian created and shattered multiple records, including the highest individual score in all of T20 cricket.

The West Indian hammered left-arm spinner Ali Murtaza for a 119-metre monster six that soared over the fence and out of the stadium.

As the RCB fans witnessed the most damaging T20 power-hitting, Gayle looked like a beast straight from the start of the innings.

Also read: IPL 2022 : कल का फाइनल मैच कौन जीता है । Kal ka final match kaun jita hai

229 Runs - The Highest Partnership

Building partnerships is important at any level of the game, but putting together a partnership of over 200 runs in the T20 format is something special.

In the 2016 edition, the RCB duo of AB de Villiers and Virat Kohli put on a display against GL in Bangalore.

The pair put on an incredible 229-run second-wicket stand, which was the most runs for any wicket in the league's history. It's also the second-highest T20 partnership in history.

Tormenting the GL side, Kohli hit 109 off 55 balls, while de Villiers smashed an undefeated 129 off 52 balls.

Kohli hit five fours and eight maximums in his innings, while de Villiers smashed 10 fours and 12 monster sixes.

RCB batted first and scored 248/3 in 20 overs courtesy to the duo's remarkable efforts, while Gujarat was bowled out for just 104 runs, losing by a record margin of 144 runs.

RCB holds the Major IPL record without winning the Trophy

Most Centuries by a team

The RCB batters have smashed the most centuries (15) in the league's history. During his remarkable IPL career, Gayle and Kohli both hit five centuries, while de Villiers hit two tonnes.

Gayle scored 102* off 55 balls in his maiden encounter for the franchise against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in Kolkata in 2011.

He went on to knock four more home runs for the organisation, quickly becoming a fan favourite at Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Kohli scored four hundred in a single season in 2016, and his fifth and final tonne came against KKR in 2019.

De Villiers scored one against Mumbai Indians (MI) in the 2015 season and the other against Gujarat Lions (GL) in the 2016 season.

Pandey was the first player to sign a contract with RCB. In 2009, he pitched 114* off 73 pitches against the Deccan Chargers.

Kohli's & Padikkal's century was the franchise's second-last, coming against Rajasthan Royals (RR) in 2021, and Rajat Patidar became the most recent addition to this record with his century against Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) in 2022.

Also read: आईपीएल 2022 मैन ऑफ द सीरीज | मैन ऑफ द सीरीज Today IPL 2022 (Man Of The Series)

Virat Kohli's most runs by a player in a season of 973

With a total of 973 runs, Virat Kohli, the former captain of the Royal Challengers Bangalore, dominated the 2016 season. He had a strike rate of 152.03 and an average of 81.08 runs per inning, with a high of 113.

Kohli scored four hundred, seven half-centuries, 83 fours, and 38 maximums in his innings. His 973 runs are the most ever scored by a batter in any T20 league, not just the IPL. Two of the four tonnes were against GL, one each against the Punjab Kings (PBKS) and the Rising Pune Supergiants.

Kohli, along with de Villiers, who scored 687 runs in that unforgettable season, led his team to their third final, only to lose to Sunrisers Hyderabad in the end (SRH).

In the recently finished 2022 season of the IPL, it was Jos Buttler who came close to matching his run total. Buttler scored 863 runs, falling 110 runs short of King Kohli's incredible feat.

RCB holds the Major IPL record without winning the Trophy

17 sixes in an innings

Gayle's 175* off 66 balls against PWI in Bangalore in 2013 set a new record for most sixes in one inning. In his innings, the tenacious West Indian smashed 17 massive sixes and 13 fours.

In 2012, Gayle smashed 13 sixes against Delhi Capitals, while on the inaugural night of the IPL in 2008, he hit 13 sixes against KKR.

For live Cricket scores and live IPL scores please visit 99Runs

0 views0 comments
bottom of page